Print This Page

Mahalo HTA Board Members

At the June 28 board meeting, the HTA said aloha and mahalo to four departing board members. Doug Chang, Charlene “Cha” Thompson, Sharon Weiner and Leon Yoshida’s terms all came to an end that month.

“We are so grateful for the service and commitment that Doug, Cha, Sharon and Leon gave during their time as members of the HTA board,” said Mike McCartney, president and CEO of the HTA. “Their knowledge of the industry and years of experience helped lead us during one of the worst economic downturns in our nation’s history to where we are now, achieving record breaking arrivals and spending.”

The HTA will welcome three new board members, Jack Corteway, David Rae and Lorrie Stone, replacing Weiner, Chang and Yoshida at the July board meeting. Victor Kimura also joined the board beginning this April replacing Vernon Char, while L. Richard Fried replaced Thompson at the beginning of June.

“On behalf of the HTA board and staff, I would like to extend my sincerest aloha to our departing members and thank them for their leadership and support. We look forward to maintaining the momentum in Hawaii’s visitor industry and working with all of our board members in achieving our targets and sustaining Hawaii’s tourism economy.”


DIACRITICALS recognizes the use of diacritical markings of the (modern) Hawaiian language including the `okina [`] or glottal stop and the kahakō [ō] or macron (e.g., in place names of Hawai`i such as Lāna'i). However, you may notice these diacritical markings have been omitted throughout the website to ensure the best online experience for our visitors. recognizes the importance of using these markings to preserve the language and culture of Hawaii and respectfully uses them in all communications beyond the online platform.

1801 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, Hawaii 96815
Phone: (808) 973-2255
Fax: (808) 973-2253

Visit us on Facebook Join us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on YouTube