State and County Orders

Statewide Order by Governor David Ige

Governor Ige issued the nineteenth supplemental proclamation, which includes mention of an anticipated new exception for vaccinated travelers that will become effective only upon approval by the director of the Hawaii Emergency Management Agency. This exception is not available as of today.

All transpacific travelers are required to have a negative test result from a trusted travel partner before their departure for Hawaii, in order to bypass the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Test results will not be accepted once a traveler arrives in Hawaii. Travelers who do not have a negative test result prior to departing for Hawaii must self-quarantine for 10 days.

View all Emergency Proclamations

More information about COVID-19 in the State of Hawaii

County of Maui

The County of Maui's Public Health Emergency Rules are available here.

Maui County requires all arriving passengers to have uploaded the AlohaSafe COVID-19 exposure app or other Google-Apple exposure notification (GAEN) system to their mobile phones. Failure to do so will result in a mandatory 10-day quarantine. For information about AlohaSafe and links to download, go to
The rule applies to both arriving transpacific as well as inter-county passengers, and is in addition to existing statewide Safe Travels Program requirements.

Interisland or transpacific travelers age five and older who provide written confirmation of a negative test result from an approved COVID-19 test administered to the traveler within 72 hours from the last leg of departure prior to arrival into Maui County, are exempt from quarantine with proof of registration on an exposure notification system as described above; provided, that random sampling of up to 100 percent of transpacific arriving travelers, as determined by the County of Maui, into Maui County who choose to participate in the State’s pre- test program to bypass quarantine are also required to obtain a second COVID-19 test upon arrival in Maui County.

View all Mayor's Press Releases

More information about COVID-19 in Maui County

Maui County travel information

To report violators: (808) 244-6400 or [email protected]

County of Kauai

Emergency Rule 24 implements a pre- and post-travel testing program for visitors who stay in “resort bubble” hotels, effective January 5. The rule allows travelers to Kauai, who receive a negative pre-travel test and stay in an approved Enhanced Movement Quarantine (EMQ) “resort bubble” property, to take a post-travel test three days after arrival and be released from quarantine with a negative post-travel test result.

View all Mayor's Emergency Rules

More information about COVID-19 in Kauai County

To report violators:

County of Hawaii

The County of Hawaii issued the First Amended Emergency Rule Fourteen.

Under Emergency Rule Thirteen, all trans-Pacific travelers who participate in the state's pre-travel test program are required to take a second test upon arrival to Hawaii Island at a County-designated facility near the airport. The County will bear the cost of the testing under federal CARES Act funds.

Short-term vacation rentals (STVR), bed and breakfast (B&B) establishments, or other paid or commercial lodging defined by the Hawaii Revised Statutes as “transient accommodations” cannot be designated as a quarantine location except for visiting essential and critical infrastructure workers, provided quarantine restrictions are followed; and individuals meeting the negative pre-travel test exception under Section 1V.B and Exhibit B Section 4(a)(2) of the Governor's fourteenth proclamation. They also cannot be designated as a quarantine place for new or "intended" residents.

Persons who have pre-arranged for long-term residential housing of 180 days or longer may utilize such housing as their designated quarantine location, provided that the full 10-day quarantine is served and not stopped early.

View all Mayor's Emergency Rules

More information about COVID-19 in Hawaii County

Critical infrastructure and medical travel request

To report violators: 808-935-3311 

City and County of Honolulu

The Second Amended Order implementing Tier 3 is in effect and will continue through April 30, 2021. The City and County of Honolulu is currently operating under Tier 3 of Honolulu's Reopening Strategy.

View all Mayor's Proclamations and Orders

More information about COVID-19 in the City and County of Honolulu

To report violators: Please call 911 to report COVID violations