Traveling to Hawaii and Interisland
- Traveling to Hawaii and Interisland
- COVID-19 Cases in Hawaii
- State and County Orders
- Hotel COVID-19 Health and Safety Plans
- Prevent the Spread of COVID-19
- How to Self-Quarantine
- Individuals Violating Self-Quarantine
- HTA Tourism Brief
- Trans-Pacific Passenger Arrivals
- Helpful Resources
- Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
SAFE TRAVELS FORM
The State of Hawaii's online Safe Travels form is mandatory for all travelers. This form, which collects the required health and travel information, is critical to protecting the health of residents and visitors alike. Click here for FAQs and instructions.
Travelers are encouraged to enter their information, details and COVID-19 test result in advance of their flight. Once their health information is entered 24 hours before departure, travelers receive a QR code via email. The QR code on their mobile device or printed on paper gets scanned by the airport screener upon arrival.
New features and data elements will be added in future phases, as the Safe Travels process and State travel requirements evolve. Travelers without smart phones or computers can ask a friend or relative for assistance or receive assistance at the arrival airport. Travelers without email addresses will need to create one on an email service to comply with the conditions of quarantine.
Click here for the press release.
HAWAII SUNSCREEN LAW
Effective January 1, 2021, Hawaii State law prohibits the sale, offer of sale, and distribution of sunscreens that contain the chemicals oxybenzone and octinoxate in the Hawaiian Islands. The purpose of this law is to preserve marine ecosystems, including coral reefs. Scientific studies have shown that oxybenzone and octinoxate are toxic to corals and other marine life. Read more.
The mandatory 10-day interisland self-quarantine applies to any person arriving to Kauai, Hawaii Island or Maui County (Maui, Molokai, Lanai). However, the counties may adopt a negative test exception process for travelers who are subject to the interisland quarantine.
Inter-county, or interisland passengers arriving in Kauai and Maui counties may bypass the mandatory 10-day quarantine if they take an FDA-authorized Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) from the certified CLIA lab of a trusted testing and travel partner no earlier than 72 hours prior to departure and receive a negative result. Interisland passengers arriving to Hawaii County have two options to proceed without the 10-day quarantine: either test for COVID-19 via a trusted testing and travel partner no more than 72 hours before traveling to Hawaii Island and receive a negative result, or be tested after arrival. Individuals may break the self-quarantine to receive an approved test. A negative post-arrival test would allow the traveler to be released from quarantine.
For more information, read about the state and county orders and check with the county websites for the latest information.
The period of self-quarantine will begin immediately upon arrival, and last 10 days or the duration of the person’s stay on the island, whichever is shorter. The interisland quarantine continues through April 13, 2021 unless it is terminated or extended by a separate proclamation.
In an effort to inspire mindful travel, industry partners and volunteer organizations in Hawaii have come together with an initiative that encourages visitors to leave Hawaii better than when they arrived. Volunteer projects range from reforestation and tree planting to self-directed beach cleanups, ocean reef preservation, and creating Hawaiian quilts for our Kupuna (elders). By making a positive impact, guests will have a more enriching travel experience and can enjoy a free extra night from participating hotels. Learn more here.
The Pre-Travel Testing Program requires passengers five and older to take a Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) from a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified laboratory within 72 hours from the final leg of departure and produce a negative result in order to proceed without the state’s 10-day mandatory quarantine. A trained professional must observe all tests.
Travelers wishing to bypass the quarantine must have their negative COVID-19 test results - from a trusted testing partner - prior to departure for the State of Hawaii. If test results are not available before boarding the final leg of the trip, the traveler must quarantine for 10 days or the length of the stay, whichever is shorter. Travelers will not be able to avoid the 10-day quarantine even if they receive a post departure negative test.
Only test results from trusted testing partners approved by the Hawaii Department of Health are being accepted. A trained professional must observe all tests. Registration instructions and costs can be found at the partners’ websites. The list of approved trusted testing partners is available at HawaiiCovid19.com. Read the FAQs here.
In addition to the pre-travel test, a county may require travelers five and older to obtain a subsequent test after arrival. This post-arrival test is being paid for and administered by the county. Be sure to check with the individual county websites for the latest information.
Travelers also will have their temperatures checked upon arrival and must fill out a travel and health form. Read the FAQs.
TRANSPACIFIC SELF-QUARANTINE EXEMPTIONS
There are other exceptions to the general rule that all travelers must self-quarantine:
- Individuals arriving in the State on recreational boats into the State's small boat (non-commercial) harbors which have been at sea for at least 10 days do not have to self-quarantine if no one on the boat is ill or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.
- Individuals traveling to the State to perform critical infrastructure functions as described in the proclamation will be subject to self-quarantine but may break quarantine to perform their critical functions.
- Persons who previously tested positive for COVID-19 but are no longer at risk of infecting others also may obtain an exemption allowing them to break quarantine.
Exemption seekers can submit their requests online as well as review a list of frequently asked questions (FAQs) at travelexemption.hawaii.gov.
Travelers from Japan may bypass the state's mandatory 10-day quarantine if they take a COVID-19 test from a trusted testing partner in Japan. The test must be taken no earlier than 72 hours prior to departure and the test must be negative prior to departure for the State of Hawaii. If test results are not available before boarding the final leg of the trip, the traveler must quarantine for 10 days or the length of the stay, whichever is shorter. Travelers will not be able to avoid the 10-day quarantine even if they receive a post departure negative test.
Japanese nationals traveling abroad are still subject to a 14-day quarantine upon their return to the country. In addition, all those who enter, re-enter or return to Japan are required to submit a certificate of pre-entry COVID-19 testing result within 72 hours prior to departure and undergo a COVID-19 test upon arrival, until the current state of emergency is lifted. Read on for more details.
Only test results from trusted testing partners approved by the Hawaii Department of Health are being accepted.
Travelers flying from Canada to Hawaii may bypass the state’s mandatory 10-day quarantine if they take a COVID-19 test from labs identified by Air Canada and WestJet. The test must be taken within 72 hours of travel to the State of Hawaii, and a negative test result must be received prior to departure. Travelers without proof of a negative test result prior to boarding their flight to Hawaii will be required to self-quarantine for 10 days or the length of stay, whichever is shorter.
Air Canada and WestJet has identified testing entities in Canada, with the Hawaii State Department of Health’s approval, for purposes of the pre-testing program. Canadian residents should look to these Canadian-based carriers for the testing options in their country:
In addition, all air passengers five years of age or older are required to test negative for COVID-19 before traveling from another country to Canada.
Documentation of a negative laboratory test result must be presented to the airline prior to boarding a flight to Canada. The test must be performed using a COVID-19 molecular polymerase chain reaction (or PCR) test and must be taken within 72 hours prior to the traveler’s scheduled departure to Canada.
Anyone who receives a negative test result and is authorized to enter Canada must still complete the full, mandatory 14-day quarantine. Read the news release.
Travelers from Korea may bypass the state's mandatory 10-day quarantine if they take a COVID-19 test from a trusted testing partner in Korea. The test must be taken no earlier than 72 hours prior to departure and the test result must be negative. The four trusted testing partners in Korea are:
- Yonsei University Health System, Severance Hospital, https://sev.severance.healthcare/sev
- Kangbuk Samsung Hospital, www.kbsmc.co.kr
- Inha University Hospital, www.inha.com
- Asan Medical Center, www.amc.seoul.kr
Arriving passengers subject to the quarantine are required to initial and sign this order confirming they are aware of the quarantine and acknowledging they understand violating the order is a criminal offense, and subject to up to a $5,000 fine and/or a year imprisonment. The period of self-quarantine begins from the time of entry into the State and lasts 10 days or the duration of the person’s time in Hawaii, whichever is shorter.
Once travelers get to a Hawaii airport, they will have to show proof they completed their form and provide identification.
After landing they will have their temperature taken through thermal temperature screening equipment at the gate. Anyone with a temperature above 100.4 degrees will receive a medical assessment by paramedics stationed at the airport.
Click here to view the visitor's journey and health protocols being implemented, including the airlines, airports, transportation, lodging, meetings and conventions, restaurants, retail, and activities and attractions.
All hosts of any guest(s) subject to the mandatory self-quarantine are responsible for ensuring that their guest(s) abides by the self-quarantine rules. Any host violates this rule if the host intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly fails to notify law enforcement immediately when a guest or guests subject to the self-quarantine fails to enter or remain within the confines of their designated quarantine location.
Please be sure to check the latest guidelines for short term rentals, transient vacation rentals and homestay operations in place, by county (City and County of Honolulu, Maui County, Kauai County, Hawaii County).
VEHICLE RENTALS AND CAR SHARING
Operations that provide vehicles may not rent or provide car sharing services to any person who is subject to a self-quarantine order unless an exemption is granted.